Growing Up As A Chubby Kid And Body Image Problems

Growing up as a Chubby Child and body Image:
Chubby Kid – Growing up as a chubby child had profound effects on my self esteem and my feeling of self-worth. I was always regarded as the kid that retained his “baby fat.” Consequently, I’d always prevent getting my top off in public, even while swimming. Clothes that contained springy was my garments of selection. My parents always shielded me from the brutal fact that I really needed to lose some weight. My family, despite being “health food fanatics”, would be considered fat by today’s standards. I remember being told by my parents that our family only has a glandular problem, and there is nothing we can do about our weight. I bought into this justification “hook, line and sinker.” I was only predisposed to be heavy; it was in my genes.
In Elementary school, I was recognized along with my excessive weight because there were certain games where heavy children have the advantage. In youth games such as red rover, tackle football, and dodge ball, heavy weight was an evident advantage. Through the process of deciding teams, I was consistently one of the first to be picked. In other games like tag, baseball, and “hide and seek” it proved to be a disadvantage. I was never a fast runner, agile athlete, nor a graceful gymnast. I used ton’t care about girls, as they were infected with “cooties” and were to be avoided as if they’d some incurable disease. I didn’t feel awful about myself, as I performed adequately in some of the traditional boyhood games. The simple truth was that I excelled at some games and not at others. I did shine in the academic sphere and was so accepted by my peers in these early years.
Body Image Problems & Growing Up as a Chubby Child
In middle school, the realization of gender appeal, the onset of puberty, male dominance and sex-based competition shattered any self esteem that I held. My first year in middle school, the rules changed, and girls had been cured of their dreaded “cooties.” The boys or “men” as we referred to ourselves now, needed to be noticed by girls. We desired to hold their hands, we needed to kiss them, or if we were truly great, reach the proverbial “first base.” The men were now in competition with each other for the gals’ focus. New words had entered our vocabulary; words like zits, klutz, and pubes. My first year in middle school, as a chubby child, didn’t go well at all for me. I was the brunt of many jokes, and the girls would not be seen talking to me. I was as unpopular as a zit and seen with precisely the same contempt. I became somewhat of a loner, as I figured nobody could hurt me if I did not allow anyone to get close to me. I began to seek refuge in the relaxation of my over protective family, and this only made my evaluation even more vital. My self esteem and my feeling of self worth ended up in the bathroom. My chubby self began to turn to “comfort food” for consolation, which of course only made http://modestperson.com/views/my-first-nude-experience-was-when-i-was-younger.php .
It was at this time around in my own life when Anna changed my prognosis. This came about the first Monday after school had let out for the summertime. My two older sisters in high school wouldn’t be done with school until that Friday. My mom and dad both happened to be working, and I was to left home alone. Being at home without supervision, I was not allowed to go out, but the idea of having someone around hadn’t crossed my parents’ heads. That Monday morning, I ‘d determined to sunbathe and get a leap on my tan, also expecting that the sunshine would help clear my complexion. I was enjoying the sun when the doorbell rang. Wrapping a towel around me, I answered the door, and there stood Anna. Anna being a year younger than I, we normally chose other buddies. She clarified that all the neighborhood children were either away on holiday, or had began summer school. She inquired if I needed to come outside and ride bikes or something. Advising her that I couldn’t go out and play, she inquired what I was doing. I described that I was sunbathing, and that was why I was wrapped in a towel. She asked if she could join me, and we headed out to the backyard. We sat down on the blanket I had spread out earlier, and Anna asked why I was not removing my towel. I clarified that I was self conscious about being overweight and was embarrassed to take it away facing her. Anna’s physique was the exact opposite of mine; she was as thin as a rail, with no curves whatsoever. Anna also had a twelve inch scar on her left thigh, which she had received as an infant in an automobile accident. As we sat in the sunshine we shared our body image issues with http://nudenudist.com/tube/there-are-so-many-variations-of-nude-living/ , openly and frankly discussing how we felt about our body parts. Anna loathed the fact that she hadn’t began to develop, but had resigned herself to the fact that she didn’t care what other folks thought. We discussed how both of us were avoided by the kids our own age and how we were both teased on a daily basis.
I came to comprehend through Anna that we both had our own body issues. In reality, most everyone would like to alter some part of their bodies. By discussing our own body issues with one another truthfully, openly, and without passing judgment, we came to be at peace with our “defects.” We spent the entire week together, each day meeting at my house. We both decided that we didn’t care what others thought anymore. We had freed ourselves from the burden in their ruling. We recognized that some people attempt to feel better about themselves by criticizing others. If anyone had an issue with our bodies, they possessed that problem, not us. By the end of that week, I managed to confront my devil that my weight wasn’t due to some odd glandular difficulty and admit my shortcoming. I’ve fought all of my life to control my weight, but never have I fought to control how I feel about my body.
Body Image Problems and Growing Up as a Chubby Child along with other Naturists and Naturists Blog About Body Image Blogs Young Nudists and Nudist Portal FKK
Tags: body image, body shame, children and youngsters, fat shaming, teens
Group: Body Image Blogs, Social Activism
About the Author (Author Profile)
Guest blogs written exclusively for Nudist Portal.

